Buchanan County, Iowa

Growing, but not outgrowing our values.

Sheriff

Home » Departments » Sheriff » Patrol Division / K-9 Unit

Patrol Division / K-9 Unit

PatrolThe Buchanan County Sheriff's Office provides law enforcement protection and enforces local, state and federal laws for eight of the eleven incorporated communities in Buchanan County as well as all of rural Buchanan County. The communities that contract law enforcement services from the Sheriff's Office are Aurora, Brandon, Hazleton, Lamont, Quasqueton, Rowley, Stanley and Winthrop. The Patrol Division is comprised of 11 full-time Sheriff's Deputies, each certified by the Iowa Law Enforcement Academy.

Patrol Deputies
Sergeant Mike Ratchford - mratchford@co.buchanan.ia.us
Sergeant Chris Chesmore - cchesmore@co.buchanan.ia.us
Sergeant Joe Schwinghammer - jschwinghammer@co.buchanan.ia.us

Deputy Scott Buzynski - sbuzynski@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Ben Ward - bward@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Cory Hartmann - chartmann@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Austin Westpfahl - awestpfahl@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Matt Cook - mcook@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Cody Jones - cjones@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Blake Gallery - bgallery@co.buchanan.ia.us
Deputy Ames Helzer - ahelzer@co.buchanan.ia.us

Sheriff's K-9 Unit

The Buchanan County Sheriff's Office's last patrol dog was K-9 Deputy Drigon, who retired from service in 2005. In 2015, after 10 years without a patrol K-9, Sheriff Bill Wolfgram announced that he would be reinstating the Sheriff's Office's K-9 program. Subsequently,  Deputy Ben Ward and K-9 Deputy Koda began normal patrol duties just prior to January 2016.

Kk9koda-9 Deputy Koda is a Belgian Malinois born in 2014 in the central European country of Slovakia. Deputy Ward and K-9 Deputy Koda were paired as a team in November 2015 while Deputy Ward attended K-9 handler training at Vohne Liche Kennels in Denver, Indiana. Following the six week training course, Koda received training and is certified in narcotics detection, persons tracking and handler protection. Deputy Ward and K-9 Deputy Koda attend various training exercises each month with surrounding law enforcement agencies that also have K-9 units in order to keep different techniques and certifications up to date.

In 2016, Koda was awarded a grant for a bullet and stab resistant vest from Vested Interest in K9s, Inc., a 501c(3) non-profit whose mission is to provide bullet and stab protective vests and other assistance to dogs of Law Enforcement and related agencies throughout the country.

Sheriff Wolfgram, Deputy Ward and the rest of the Buchanan County Sheriff's Office sincerely thank everyone who donated or otherwise contributed to the K-9 fundraisers that were held over the last few years. The K-9 Unit is an essential tool for day-to-day operations and we are pleased to have this program once again.

Deputy Ward and K-9 Deputy Koda will be available for public demonstrations.  To make an inquiry, contact Sheriff Wolfgram at (319) 334-2568 or bwolfgram@co.buchanan.ia.us.