Buchanan County Sheriff's Office

Thank you for visiting the Buchanan County Sheriff's Office website!
The Buchanan County Sheriff's Office is on Facebook, too!  Check us out a www.facebook.com/buchanancountysheriff and be sure to "like" us to stay on top of events, press releases, images and other information.

The Buchanan County Sheriff's Office administrative offices are open by appointment only, and we are temporarily suspending jail visitation and fingerprinting for employment until further notice. This is being done in order to reduce the risk of the spread of COVID-19 (corona virus).   Persons with business such as weapons permits, salvage/junk vehicle paperwork, civil processes, sex offender registry requirements and any other business should contact the Sheriff's Office by calling (319) 334-2568.  The safety of our staff, inmates and the public is our priority. Accordingly, limiting non-essential services and close contact will allow us to reduce the spread of any viruses.
Thank you for your cooperation.
- Sheriff Scott Buzynski

About Our Office

starThe Buchanan County Sheriff's Office is comprised of Deputies, Investigators, Instructors, Civil Staff, Dispatchers and Corrections Officers all under a command staff led by Sheriff Scott Buzynski and Chief Deputy Mike Ratchford.

Buchanan County consists of 573 square miles and has a population of approximately 21,000. Within the county are eleven incorporated cities and two unincorporated towns, six major parks, twenty-one nature areas and five river accesses with the Wapsipinicon River running straight through the county.

The earliest history information for the Sheriff’s Office dates back to 1902 when the law enforcement for the county consisted of the Sheriff and one deputy. Their office was a room located in the old Courthouse. In 1939, Buchanan County built the existing Courthouse where the Sheriff, his deputy and a clerk had a small one-room office. As time passed, the number of deputies increased to keep up with the need to fight crime. In 1976, the Sheriff’s Office moved to the Buchanan – Independence Public Safety Center which is attached to the north side of the courthouse. In July of 2010, the Buchanan County Sheriff's Office began operating out of its new building which was constructed on the south side of the Buchanan County Courthouse. The new building houses the Sheriff's Office as well as the Communications Center and Correctional Center (jail).

The Buchanan County Sheriff's Office provides police protection and enforces local, state and federal laws for eight of the eleven incorporated communities as well as all of rural Buchanan County. The communities are Aurora, Brandon, Hazleton, Lamont, Quasqueton, Rowley, Stanley and Winthrop. The three remaining towns, Fairbank, Independence and Jesup have their own municipal law enforcement agencies.