Contact Us


Driver's License Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed Holidays
Early Closure on the last working day of December and June

The Treasurer's office would like to encourage you to come into the office at your earliest convenience.  It is busiest at the end of the day.  Unfortunately different driver's license scenarios are more time consuming than others, and we do quit taking driver's license customers if we are backed up at the end of the day so that we can have customers that have been checked in issued to by 4:00 p.m.

Driver's License Testing Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Closed Holidays

Property Taxes, Titles and Registration Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Closed Holidays

The Treasurer's office will close at Noon, to the public, to balance the books and be counted out by the Board of Supervisors and Auditor on:

  • Monday, December 31, 2018 (Driver's License will close at 10:30 a.m.)
  • Friday, June 28, 2019 (Driver's License will close at 10:30 a.m.)

Mailing Address:
Buchanan County Treasurer's Office
PO Box 319
Independence, IA  50644

Location:
Buchanan County Courthouse
210 5th Ave NE - 1st Floor
Independence, IA 50644

Phone:
(319) 334-7456 - Driver's License
(319) 334-4340 - Property Taxes
(319) 334-2005 - Motor Vehicle
Fax:  (319) 334-7454

Email the Treasurer:
treasurer@co.buchanan.ia.us         

Staff:
Barbara Fischels, Tax Deputy
bfischels@co.buchanan.ia.us
 
Mellisa Schweitzer, Driver's License Deputy
mschweitzer@co.buchanan.ia.us

Tammy Jones, Motor Vehicle Deputy
tjones@co.buchanan.ia.us

Amber Reth, 2nd Deputy
areth@co.buchanan.ia.us

Heather Amfahr, 2nd Deputy
hamfahr@co.buchanan.ia.us