Contact Us


Driver's License Office Hours:
Monday - Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m.
Closed Holidays
Early Closure on the last working day of December and June

The Treasurer's office would like to remind you that at this time, driver's license is by appointment only. Please call our office to schedule your appointment. The number for Driver's License is (319) 334-7456. 

Driver's License Testing Office Hours: This is done by appointment only
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m.
Closed Holidays

Property Taxes, Titles and Registration Office Hours:
Monday – Friday
8:00 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
Closed Holidays

The Treasurer's office will close at Noon, to the public, to balance the books and be counted out by the Board of Supervisors and Auditor on:

  • Monday, December 31, 2020 (Driver's License will close at 12:00 a.m.)
  • Friday, June 30, 2021 (Driver's License will close at 12:00 a.m.)

Mailing Address:
Buchanan County Treasurer's Office
PO Box 319
Independence, IA  50644

Location:
Buchanan County Courthouse
210 5th Ave NE - 1st Floor
Independence, IA 50644

Phone:
(319) 334-7456 - Driver's License
(319) 334-4340 - Property Taxes
(319) 334-2005 - Motor Vehicle
Fax:  (319) 334-7454

Email the Treasurer:
treasurer@co.buchanan.ia.us         

Staff:
Barbara Fischels, Tax Deputy
bfischels@co.buchanan.ia.us
 
Mellisa Schweitzer, Driver's License Deputy
mschweitzer@co.buchanan.ia.us

Tammy Jones, Motor Vehicle Deputy
tjones@co.buchanan.ia.us

Amber Reth, 2nd Deputy
areth@co.buchanan.ia.us

Heather Amfahr, 2nd Deputy
hamfahr@co.buchanan.ia.us